Warning: Use of undefined constant REQUEST_URI - assumed 'REQUEST_URI' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/aecmonitoring.asean.org/public_html/wp-content/themes/jnews/functions.php on line 73
Intro to ASEAN – ASEAN Economic Community Monitoring

Intro to ASEAN

Knowing ASEAN

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, or ASEAN, is a regional body that was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand. ASEAN is comprised of ten member states, namely, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philipines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.

With a strong motivation for a more integrated and interconnected future, ASEAN Member States declared its commitment towards accelerating the establishment of an ASEAN Community through three identified community pillars; ASEAN Security Community, ASEAN Economic Community and ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community.

For more information on the ASEAN journey visit: https://asean.org/

The Community

The ASEAN Economic Community is one of the ASEAN community pillars. It is a dynamic and sustainable regional economic integration initiative that is constantly evolving to meet changing demands. The AEC is guided by time bound carefully designed planning documents. The previous ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) Blueprint 2015 had paved the way for the next phase of economic integration agenda for the period of 2016-2025, guided by the AEC Blueprint 2025. The AEC Blueprint 2025 was adopted by the ASEAN leaders at the 27th ASEAN Summit on 22 November 2015 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.